Re:Framed: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind=Blown”

eternal-sunshine-of-the-spotless-mind

***SPOILER ALERT***

“Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,” directed by Michel Gondry and starring Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet, is a film based on Joel Barish’s (Jim Carrey) and Clementine Kruczynski’s (Kate Winslet) love life and how they went from being two romanticized lovers to not being able to put up with one another. After a heated argument between the two, Clementine hires a business named “Lacuna” to erase the memories of her times with Joel. After the process was completed and Joel found out, he chooses to do the same. Most of the plot line takes place within Joel’s own consciousness, and after a bit of time Joel comes to realize that he would rather not have the procedure be done. He then undergoes an internal struggle within himself, fighting to preserve the treasured memories that he once had with the love of his life, Clementine. For those of you that haven’t watched the movie, I’ll end the plot synopsis there, in hopes that it gives you enough motivation to view such a spectacular and thought provoking movie.

screenshot-lrg-11

What begins as a confusing and rather dull plot progresses into a world of even greater confusion, but with much more clarity. Throughout the rising action and quite possibly the climax, the story continuously twisted and turned in revelation of new aspects of the plotline, and the audience is continually kept with wide eyes and a keen attention span. The desire to discover more importance in the plot kept my attention the entire time, and by the very end, I found myself sitting in my seat, not moving nor talking, but rather thinking of what had just happened. I pondered the many loose ends that were created, struggling constantly to knot them into an understandable end. Like well-written literature, a very important trait that I believe should be in every movie that strives to be praised is the ability to twist people’s minds and force them to think of what they just witnessed before their eyes. On a slight half note, such a trait reminds of a class I am currently enrolled in, more specifically, English. How it relates is that I find my English class highly peculiar in comparison to current and previous classes, peculiar in the fact that it is not taught to conventional standards. I as a student attending the class am almost never handed paper homework with instructions on what to do nor has the class been taught with a precise or specific guideline. Every day seems to conjure something new and amorphous, like a magician wielding his magic. Comparatively enough, the teacher is actually somewhat similar to that, always using his magic to conjure something new and interesting for the class to experience. To conclude such a reminder, how I was reminded of this from “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” was that I feel obligated to pay attention in the class, or else I might miss something interesting, just like how I felt obligated to pay attention to every aspect of the movie, or else I might have missed something. Evidently, the movie “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” is in its own right one of the greatest and most thought-provoking movies I have watched thus far, and I recommend it to anyone who found my own viewpoint at least half-interesting.

                                                                                                                          -Bryan

picture-of-jim-carrey-and-kate-winslet-in-stralucirea-eterna-a-mintii-neprihanite-large-picture

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind had got me thinking of my life as a high schooler. As memories were shown of what Joel had carried throughout his life with Clementine, I realized that the people I enjoy my time with today will be what carries me on to tomorrow. As I watched the movie in order to find out what would happen toward the end, I had wondered what memories I would treasure of my younger age when I got older. This movie had really gotten me to think more of my everyday life, even though it may seem like another boring old, homework filled day. I had started to think more on the optimist side of enjoying everything that was happening instead of complaining on what may seem bad at the time. I found it very touching on how Joel and Clementine later tried to rekindle their relationship and how the people we share our relationship may not be with us forever, but they will change us to the people we eventually become. In high school, students such as I have good moments and memories with friends, teachers, and people we might have a relationship with. These memories shall always be treasured in life due to the fact that the friends we make will be with us our entire lives, the teachers we have class with will teach life lessons that change us as people, and the people we have a relationship with will teach you about love; no matter who or what kind of person you may be. As a conclusion to my thoughts on this very deep yet exhilarating movie, the basic theme and idea of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind has gotten me thinking more of what I should do in my life and also who I should be with.

                                                                                                                          -Yasir

2 thoughts on “Re:Framed: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind=Blown”

  1. Pingback: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind | screengrabsaz

Leave a Reply

