RE:FRAMED: Radioactive Describes A Tale of Two Cities

20140102173941!Imagine_Dragons_-_-Radioactive-_(Single)

Whoa, oh, oh
Whoa, oh, oh
Whoa, oh, oh
Whoa

I’m waking up to ash and dust
I wipe my brow and I sweat my rust
I’m breathing in the chemicals

I’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

This describes the ruinous atmosphere of the imminent French Revolution and the hard work of all those involved. The atmosphere is almost tangible and you can feel the poison of the liberal ideals starting to encroach every person, place, and crevice of France. What is going to happen is criminal but so are the people behind the reason of the action.

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

New age means the collapse of the Ancien RĂ©gime and an ushering of a new government and era. The whole system will be blown apart and the effects of this will be felt throughout Europe. Some would be fearful and some would be hopeful but everyone would feel it in their bones and wake up and realize the importance of what had happened. Monarchs would fear that the same would happen and concessions would be made. The lower class will be utilized as a tool by the enlightened middle class to strike fear into the conservatives who wished to revert to the old ways from the tricolor back to the white Bourbon flag.

I raise my flags, don my clothes
It’s a revolution, I suppose
We’ll paint it red to fit right in
Whoa

I’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

The enlightened revolutionaries are raising the tricolor and the sans-culottes are putting on their ordinary clothes that they have been known to wear. Revolution is coming and blood will result like how this is foreshadowed in A Tale of Two Cities with the dropping of the wine cask and the wine meandering into every crack in the street and everyone desperate trying to get a taste of it. The resulting revolution would result in not a republic, but a Reign of Terror. The guillotine would be the apocalypse described in the song.

All systems go, the sun hasn’t died
Deep in my bones, straight from inside

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive

The French would modify their government from a citizen king to another emperor to new republics all the way to the current Fifth Republic, describing all systems go. Though the light had faded from the French people, it was still not gone and hope was still there. The French change would have to come from within and not from outside with foreign powers.

-Tyler

Leave a Reply

