Re: Falling in Love with 01001000 01100101 01110010

*BEFORE YOU READ. This post is slightly overdue because I started it a while ago and never got around to finishing it.*

*Caution, this post concerns a rated “R” movie, so if you can’t handle that stuff, well just read anyways… unless you hate spoilers, but I’ll try to keep those to a bare minimum. *

I personally tend to write a lot about visual media, however, it’s not very surprising considering film is my wishful future profession. I’m going to discuss a piece today that just recently made my top ten tearjerkers and I hope it’ll arouse in you at least a few similar emotions. Before I continue, I must say that if you have not seen this yet, I HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU WATCH IT. LIKE, NOW.

“Her,” directed and written by Spike Jonze, is on a visual as well as storytelling median worthy of being titled a cinematic masterpiece. Although boasting its fair share of flaws, the performances of Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, and Scarlett Johansson cover up any blemishes that reside it its story line.

*Warning, POSSIBLY some spoilers, however, none major.*

“Her” depicts a lonely and sometimes strange-looking man by the name of Theodore Twombly. Working in a letter-writing company, current events within his life have caused a major downward spiral, and as an audience, we really don’t know where that life is going at the beginning of the movie. However, the main pivot arrives when he discovers a new operating system designed to not be just an A.I., but an entire conscience that learns from its experiences. Events set off from there, taking the plot into new twists and turns that warm, yet at times, crush the heart.

Not too many people appreciate this movie for what it truly depicts because of its premise. It’s rather difficult for many, as well as myself, to imagine a living human being falling in love with an entity governed by a set of ones and zeros. But what is the human mind but a hunk of meat powered by a bunch of electrical signals? Although such Artificial Intelligence technology will most likely forever remain within the boundaries of science fiction, the fact still stands that if such a thing were ever invented, it would no doubt be able to feel and love as much if not more than humans do.

Also, please remember that I am still in my teenage years, and that I know little if anything about love and how it works, nor the true chemistry behind . But even so, this movie has taught me well that love can exist in the strangest of forms, between the strangest of subjects. It taught me that love can be found in the strangest of corners, maybe even in the dark, shady alley in your local neighborhood (hopefully not). And most importantly, it taught me never to use the phone for certain things (spoilers).

-Bryan

Leave a Reply

